Creative Talent Network Fameuz attends the 68th Berlin International Film Festival

Feb 15th, 2018

The Berlin International Film Festival (or the Berlinale) is one of the leading film festivals held annually since 1951 in Berlin, Germany. About 400 movies in several sections of the program are shown during the 10 days of the festival. This year the 68th edition of the festival takes place from February 15 to 25 in different theatre locations of Berlin. The new animation movie directed by Wes Anderson “Isle of Dog” opened the festival on February 15 in the grand Berlinale Palast. The event was attended by the film director, Bryan Cranston, Liev Schreiber, Kunichi Nomura, Greta Gerwig, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum and Tilda Swinton.

The European Film Market 

Simultaneously to the film festival, there is the European Film Market (EFM) that connects distributors, film buyers, development executives, attorneys, producers, financiers and co-production agents and other festival directors. The EFM gives an opportunity for film and business professionals to meet, discuss and collaborate on current and future projects.
Creative talent network Fameuz is proud to be a part of the festival as well as the EFM this year, as we are one of the exhibitors at the “Marriot Hotel” in the heart of Berlin. The main aim of this exhibition is to draw the attention of the massive international audience, allowing our company a great exposure to the online creative community. During the festival and the market, is going to meet with the leaders of the industry in search of high-quality webinar tutors.

The Golden Bear Award

The main prize of the festival is the Golden Bear, which is awarded to the competition winners in three sections: “Best Motion Picture,” “Best Short Film” and “Lifetime Achievement (Honorary Golden Bear)” and also the Silver Bear is given in seven other categories. The three jury members designated for each category are well-known people in the film industry: Tom Tykwer who is the Jury President, Cécile de France, Chema Prado, Adele Romanski, RyĆ«ichi Sakamoto and Stephanie Zacharek. The winner of each competition section will be announced on Saturday, February 24 during the Award Ceremony. However, the winner of the last section has already been announced; it is the famous actor Willem Defoe, whose award ceremony will be held on February 20 in the Berlinale Palast. Some of the most anticipated films in the competition section of the Berlinale include: “Don’t Worry: He Won’t Go Far on Foot” with Joaquin Phoenix, Jonah Hill, Rooney Mara and Jack Black, “7 Days in Entebbe” with Rosamund Pike and Daniel Brühl, “Damsel” with Robert Pattinson and Mia Wasikowska and “Eva” with Isabelle Huppert and Gaspard Ulliel.